Video

Daily prompt: Listening to Florence for days

23 Apr

I haven’t been listening to music much lately. Can’t explain how that is possible… It must have been one of hose weird weeks.
Buuut I heard Florence Welch’s song I’m not calling you a liar and kept replaying it every now and then. The only song that I’ve been listening to, actually.
It is not necessarily for the lyrics why I enjoy it so much, although they are really beautiful. It’s just that you can’t help loving a Florence and the Machine song…

Anyways, these are the lyrics:

I’m not calling you a liar,
Just don’t lie to me.
I’m not calling you a thief,
Just don’t steal from me,
I’m not calling you a ghost,
Just stop haunting me,
And i love you so much,
I’m gonna let you,
Kill me.

There’s a ghost in my lungs
And it sighs in my sleep,
Wraps itself around my tongue,
As it softly speaks
Then it walks, then it walks with my legs

To Fall,
To Fall,
To Fall, at your feet.
Oh but for the grace of god go on,
And when you kiss me, I’m happy enough to die.

I’m not calling you a liar,
Just don’t lie to me.
And i love you so much,
I’m gonna let you
I’m not calling you a thief,
Just don’t,
And i love you so much,
I’m gonna let you,
Ohh,
I’m not calling you a ghost,
Just don’t

There’s a ghost in my mouth
And it talks in my sleep,
Wraps itself around my tongue,
As it softly speaks
then it walks, then it walks
then it walks with my legs

To Fall,
To Fall,
To Fall,
To Fall,
To Fall,
To Fall, at your feet.
Oh but for the grace of god go on,
And when you kiss me, I’m happy enough

 

Finally, as a treat, the live version.

Enjoy!

 

The prompt came from Daily Post, and I saw it at Never stationary and Live out loud.

 

9 Responses to “Daily prompt: Listening to Florence for days”

  1. NW Frame of Mind April 23, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    We listen to a lot of Florence and the Machine here too. 🙂 Love her voice.

  2. Allyson Mellone April 23, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    This gave me such a lift starting my morning. I don’t listen to music often these days too, so this was a surprise…very beautiful. Thank you.

  3. HectorGA May 11, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    thanks for doing this, keep bloging and good luck 🙂

  4. Island Traveler May 15, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    It is a very moving song. The lyrics and the beat are just addicting. Beautiful song with an unforgettable story.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Brain – The Musical | The Jittery Goat - April 23, 2013

    […] Daily prompt: Listening to Florence for days | Blog`n`Rolla […]

  2. Aural Sex! – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur - April 23, 2013

    […] Daily prompt: Listening to Florence for days | Blog`n`Rolla […]

Leave a Reply

