Sunday afternoon dreaming: Hamburg and Bucharest

7 Apr

So it’s the first Sunday in April. Not exactly what one had expected, considering the temperature just dropped half the value, compared to yesterday and the wind doubled, if not tripled in speed…
Meanwhile, it became clear that the Sunday afternoon stroll and church photographing was going to be rainchecked. Oh, wait a minute. Did I say rain?
Anyway, I’ve stumbled upon several shots of beautiful churches I’ve seen. Thought I’d share with you.
This is one of my favorites. It is known as The Students’ Church as it is located in the nearby of the University of Bucharest. It was built in 1905-1909, resembling the Russian architecture style and it is one of the city’s prettiest. It was previously named The Russian Church, as it was Tsar Nicholas the second who commissioned it and sponsored the works.

20130407-161652.jpg

My second choice for today’s post is Gnadenkirche, a former Lutheran church in Hamburg. I have spotted it from the car, in the middle of a network of road junctions, near Johannes Brahms square and museum. I immediately asked the driver to pull off, so I could take some shots. It is an architectural jem and a true delight for the eyes. It was built at the beginning of the 20th century in the Reform architecture style, with a diamond-shaped roof. In 2004, as the Lutheran congregation in the nearby reduced its size and the maintenance of the building was too expensive, the Russian Orthodox Church took over Gnadenkirche, the “Church of mercy”. Unfortunately  it was a Tuesday afternoon and it was closed. But on my next visit to Hamburg(possibly this summer), I shall admire it from the interior.

20130407-165052.jpg

The list does not end here. Which are your favorite churches? I would love to see your posts.
That being said,
Peace:)

20130407-174532.jpg

20130407-174846.jpg

Leave a Reply

